Thoughts on NBA Finals

It’s been a while since I posted an entry here in my site.  The NBA Finals already rolled out and the L.A. Lakers are already up by one game against the Orlando Magic.  Since I already missed covering the playoffs, I guessed I’ll just try my best to write about the Finals as much as I could, though I doubt it because of my internet connection difficulties.  But since I might have a thing or two to say about the Finals, I’ll try my best to post something at least until the Finals is over.

First, Jameer Nelson’s back in the game and I think this can bring some pros and cons with the current play of the MagicNelson missed the latter part of the season leading to the playoffs due to a shoulder injury.  To make up for his supposedly “season-ending” injury, Orlando acquired Rafer Alston.  Without Nelson, Alston made use of the time allotted for him and helped the Magic pile up wins in the post-season, including the ousting of Lebron James and the Cavaliers.  Now that the Magic are deep in the playoffs, (actually in the Finals), Nelson announces his return and puts Magic coach, Stan Van Gundy in a very tricky situation.

There are two situations that can happen once Nelson settles in the lineup and gets into the rotation.  Nelson can either put Magic’s chemistry out of sync, or he can be a spark plug where his team can get an extra boost.

Depending on how Van Gundy handles the situation, Nelson’s return can either make or break Magic’s run for the NBA title.

Second point, I believe Kobe Bryant let it all out on the first game and tallied 40 points, 8 rebounds and 8 assists.  Kobe will always be Kobe, most especially in the FinalsOrlando should realize that.  Providing coverage for Kobe should be a main concern for OrlandoCourtney Lee showed some on-court savvy, but the rookie is clearly no-match against Bryant.  I expect to see more of Mickael Pietrus in the rotation to provide coverage for BryantDwight Howard might be able to hold the fort in the middle against Andrew Bynum and Pau Gasol, but once Kobe unleashes hell from the outside, that’s a different story.  Providing as much defense against Kobe should be the main concern for Magic if they intend to win in the series.

That’s about it for now.  I’ll try to come up with something sometime this week.  I have been looking to write something about the Boston Celtics since their playoff exit, but I still haven’t found the time.  One of these days I’ll come up with it, I hope.

Looking forward to a great championship series.  Cheers to all Lakers fans for the game 1 win.

-fouledout

Leave a Reply

